The Gladys M. Thomason Distinguished Service Award

Deadline for Nominations: May 30th

Each year, GCTM selects one outstanding individual as the Gladys M. Thomason Award winner. To be eligible for the award, the nominee must:

  • Be a member of GCTM and NCTM;
  • Be fully certified in mathematics, elementary or middle grades education at the fourth year level or beyond;
  • Have had at least five years teaching or supervisory experience in mathematics or mathematics education in Georgia; and
  • If the nominee is a college professor, the nominee must be at least an assistant professor.

Selection shall be based on distinguished service in the field of mathematics education at the local, regional, and state levels. Criteria shall include:

  • Significant services rendered
  • Service beyond the normal job requirements, and
  • Services primarily for the improvement of mathematics instruction

To nominate someone for this award, please follow the instructions on the Gladys M. Thomason Nomination Form. You must be a member of GCTM to nominate anyone.

2014 Gladys M. Thomason
Distinguished Service Award Winner
Ellice Martin

Previous Recipients of the Gladys M. Thomason Award
2014 Ellice Martin
2013 Peggy Pool
2012 Debbie Poss
2011 Lynn Stallings
2010 Susan Craig
2009 Patricia Barrett
2008 James Wilson
2007 Barbara Ferguson
2006 Dan Funsch
2005 Christine Thomas
2004 Tom Ottinger
2003 Dottie Whitlow
2002 Barbara Ham
2001 Margaret Faircloth
2000 David O’Neil
1999 Thomas Cooney
1998 Wanda Oldfield
1997 Earl Swank
1996 Cathy Franklin 
1995 Bill Roughead
1994 Jane Barnard
1993 David Stone
1992 John Neff
1991 Becky King
1990 Larry Elbrink
1989 J. Norman Wells
1988 Mildred Sharkey
1987 Wanda White
1986 Aurelia Hinson
1985 Ed Davis
1984 Bill Bompart
1983 Jo Anne Mayberry
1982 Peggy Neal
1981 Doris Dickey
1980 Dora Helen Skypek
1979 Lex Buchanan
1978 Clare Nesmith
1977 Randall Hicks
1976 Cherry Clements
1975 Dorothy Simmons
1974 Gwen Shufelt
1973 Margaret Edenfield
1972 Gladys M. Thomason